PDA

View Full Version : Vacuum idea

Ittiz
02-25-2014, 05:01 PM
So I've been sugaring for a couple years now as a hobby. One of the types of trees I tap is birches, but their sap burns easy and it's only 1%. Anyway I made a vacuum still (can pull 29.9" of Mercury at sea level at about 3cfm) partly to boil the sap at a lower temp so it doesn't burn. At the moment the max batch I'd be able to do is 2.5 gal of sap, not a lot.

I hadn't heard of the idea of using a vacuum line to pull sap out of the trees until I came on here. It gave me an idea. Why not attach a vacuum line directly to the trees from the vacuum chamber? Run it at around 28" of mercury. At that pressure the sap would stay fluid while it was traveling the cold line. Then when the sap entered the vacuum chamber it would be heated to about 80F at which point the water would boil away. Eventually the vacuum camber would fill with syrup. I'd probably still need one large vacuum chamber for the waste water, it's not good to run steam through the pump. I probably wouldn't try an implement the idea till next year at the moment I'm doing regular tubing into a 55 gal drum. I've never tried vacuuming directly from the trees so anyone see any flaws with my idea or any input?

Scribner's Mountain Maple
02-25-2014, 05:29 PM
I'm not sure about using Vac to produce sap into Syrup. I do know that Mike Farrell from Cornell research told me that he didn't see any additional affect from using Vacuum on Birch trees to increase production. Essentially to me, what he was saying was that using Vac for producing Birch Syrup is not needed. However, using an RO is.

Works good for Maples however. Good luck.
Ben

Ittiz
02-25-2014, 05:55 PM