PDA

View Full Version : Sugaring season near Lancaster, PA 2014

Sandersyrup
02-25-2014, 11:34 AM
Just wondering how the season is going for anybody near Lancaster.

I've made about 3 Gallons of Golden (borderline Amber)

Temps are weird this year. No Major sap runs, just daily drippings adding up slowly. Not cold enough nights last week, not warm enough days this week. The past two years my trees were done by now.

I'm feeling good about my totals though, seems like a nice long stretched out season in the works. This year still feels like its only getting started.

krismast
02-25-2014, 11:53 AM
This is my first year and it has been hit or miss with my trees so far. The ones in the front yard don't seem like doing anything at all. The sugar maple in the back just started running just in time for the cold weather to come back and shut it off. Still I got about 1/2 cup of very light syrup over the weekend. John, see if you can guess who I'm related to by my username lol.

Also, where did you get your evaporator made? How has it been working out so far?

Kristopher

Sandersyrup
02-25-2014, 06:04 PM
Hey Kris,

hmmm I know two completely different Mast families. Both of which are awesome! So it's either Kent Mast from one family or Daniel Mast would have my closest friend on the other. Either way nice to see you pop in!

My evaporator is actually an "Amish wood fired canner/cooker" built by DS machine in Gordonsville. I like it because I like to can tomatoes and cook corn for freezing, pear butter, applesauce and make syrup in the winter. Very versatile. I'm getting about 5 gallons per hour. I love it. But I can't handle much more taps on it before I'd need to get something better designed for sap.

krismast
02-25-2014, 06:20 PM