PDA

View Full Version : Tapped in lackawanna county

Z/MAN
02-21-2014, 10:07 PM
It wasn't easy this year with the huge snow pack but I finally finished tapping. My hat is off to you guys that have to tap most years with snow shoes. They work but they are by no means easy. The trees are flowing and I should be boiling this weekend. Finally!
Paul

Maplewalnut
02-22-2014, 06:57 AM
Good luck Paul. Looks cold again this week. Maybe if I summerize the sleds we will get some sugaring weather?

frontiersman1985
03-06-2014, 03:55 PM
As of now i have 20 taps in. Im in Factoryville, pa. Its my first year, hope it warms up soon! Maybe tomorrow i will tap some more!

Z/MAN
03-06-2014, 06:20 PM
By this time next month you will be hooked bad. There is no stopping you now.

Z/MAN
03-11-2014, 10:14 PM
Boiled down 74 gallons this afternoon. 50 degrees here but the trees are sluggish. 74 gallons in three days. (not good) Main line just dripping not flowing. Guess they are still trying to thaw out. Running out of time.

Z/MAN
04-05-2014, 10:40 PM
Wow! Finally got a break today. Been boiling like mad since Monday. Felt really good to get some much needed sleep last night. Hardest run I've seen in my 9 years of sugaring. It's below freezing now and going below tomorrow night and then again Tuesday and Wednesday night. Buds are still looking good. Latest I ever made syrup! Went from almost nothing made last week to probably my best season ever. Who would have thought???

Run Forest Run!
04-05-2014, 11:40 PM
Paul, how much sap did you get this past week? How much finished syrup do you now have?

Your comment on your 'season' is encouraging to those of us still twiddling our thumbs.

happy thoughts
04-06-2014, 09:18 AM