PDA

View Full Version : Finding vacuum leaks

farmerfletch
02-21-2014, 01:25 PM
What are some easy ways to find leaks on vacuum, This is only my second season with a vacuum pump so I'm still learning all the tricks. Thanks in advance for any advice.

Sent from my iPod touch using Tapatalk

mapleack
02-21-2014, 02:18 PM
Its best when there's decent sap flow, finding small leaks is a visual job. If you've got hooked connectors or tensioners where the laterals meet the main line you'll have a loop of lateral before it goes into the saddle. Look at this loop, if there is sap in it barely moving or slowly moving then there aren't any leaks on that line, go on to the next one. If the sap is zipping through the loop then there's a leak. Go to just before the first tree, using both hands bend a "U" down in the lateral so it can fill with sap. If it still zips through, the leak is farther up the line, if not, its in the section you already walked by. If it zips by still, then go just passed the first tree and repeat the process, this lets you narrow down where the leak is, then you can look for small holes, loose taps, etc. Electrical tape works well for small leaks. I've found its best to tear off a six inch or so piece from the roll, this lets you stretch the tape tighter as you wrap it around the tubing. You may find a hollow tree or two, when you narrowed it down to a single drop line and you can't find a leak it's probably the tree. Good luck!

ennismaple
02-21-2014, 03:41 PM
What Andy said is bang on. I wish I knew this years ago when we walked every single line to check for leaks. The big leaks like missed taps, chews, broken fittings, etc... you will hear a mile away!

vtmapleman
02-21-2014, 06:21 PM