PDA

View Full Version : Bucket users--have you tapped yet?

Justinmaple
02-19-2014, 04:47 PM
I am in Johnson and I use buckets. I have been sugaring for 6 years. I am tempted to set my taps tomorrow morning with the warm spell that's suppposed to come over the next 2 days. I have never tapped this early and I'm concerned about taps drying out and screwing up the end of my season. Are other bucket people tapped in yet? Does anyone know how long a bucket will last? Thanks.

Shawn
02-19-2014, 04:51 PM
Did 165 of them yesterday and buddy was finishing up his at his house today. Day prior did 219 taps for pipeline. Holding tanks put out today and in sugar house tomorrow to get that all ready and then wait. A work out this week

vermontpure
02-19-2014, 08:43 PM
Not yet here in west haven. probably gonna give it another week or two. Definatly by first weekend in march.

Paul VT
02-19-2014, 09:12 PM
Not yet. Will wait for a decent warm up. Probably about the first week in March. I have been told bucket taps are good for 30 days. But I have had good runs after 30+ days before.

adk1
02-19-2014, 09:37 PM
I tapped my tubing over the weekend but didn't tap my sap sacks because thinking I will wait till the steadier runs start

GeneralStark
02-20-2014, 06:35 AM
Only doing a few buckets this year but in the past when I have dome many I have generally waited until more consistent spring weather. It is still winter and while it is going to warm up the next couple days you are potentially shortening your season with buckets by tapping this early. It will be back in the single digits next week. Relax, get things ready and hang the buckets when it looks like it will be more consistently spring like.

That said, you could put out some buckets now to see what is going on and then put the rest out later. You could also tap again later in the season if you have access to more trees or if you have large trees.

Flat Rock Farmers
02-20-2014, 06:46 AM