PDA

View Full Version : What does everyone price their syrup at !!!!!!!

Swagner
02-17-2014, 07:13 AM
I was wondering if I was to sell some of my excessive syrup what a good price would be. Most of what I do is canned in pint size jars. I don't grade as I'm not doing this as a business and don't know enough about it. But if I had to guess it's on the dark amber side and very strong maple flavor. Just as Me and my family and friends prefer. Thanks for any help.

optionguru
02-17-2014, 07:27 AM
I'm new to the selling as well and just planning on selling a few gallons worth in pints and quarts to pay for next years supplies. My mother has an antique shop so I figure I would put out some mason jars on her counter. I'm planning on $8 pints and $15 quarts. Seems to be what many around here price their syrup at.

heus
02-17-2014, 07:37 AM
If you are selling you are required to attach a grade and your contact information.

Ausable
02-17-2014, 07:38 AM
Good question. I am strictly a Hobby Maple Syrup maker and have never charged anyone for the maple syrup I make. Many have suggested that I charge for it to cover my costs. My thinking: - This Hobby that I love - than becomes a business and I do not want that. My oldest - gets frustrated with me sometimes and doesn't understand my logic. My reply to him was - If I wanted to make money - I would have continued to work and not retired - Maple Syrup Making is nothing but work - a labor of love- and I would never do it for a living - I hope. My pay is giving Maple Syrup to those who have never tasted it before in their lives and listening to their comments. LOL - My answer to Your question is - Free. -----Mike-----

BreezyHill
02-17-2014, 08:07 AM
The majority of our product goes in glass, with 250ml selling for $13-$14. Very little goes into plastic anymore.
Prior to my taking over the operation most was sold in bulk with a little in plastic. There was some that went to candy but only a few gallons annually.