PDA

View Full Version : drop line length ?

antler creek
02-15-2014, 06:34 PM
what is the average drop line length that sappers are using ? What is your reasoning behind using longer drops ?

2by6 waterloo small
110 buckets
300 taps on steeeep gravity
still learning

relseek
02-15-2014, 06:46 PM
I am by no means an expert but I believe the recommended length is 24 to 30 inches depending on the size of the tree

spud
02-15-2014, 07:09 PM
I go 36 inches on my drops. I loose about half an inch each year when I cut my seasonal spouts off.

Spud

Thompson's Tree Farm
02-15-2014, 07:18 PM
I use 30 inch with a stubby and check valve. 30 inch gives me lots of reach to get to as much tapping area as possible on the tree,

DrTimPerkins
02-15-2014, 07:25 PM
The average reported length is 30" (in fall 2012, see chart below), however the trend is towards longer droplines. This is partly due to the use of seasonal spouts (small amount cut off each year). The reason to use long droplines is to avoid cluster-tapping, and to allow you to tap within a larger portion of the tree stem (tapping band), which will reduce the probability of hitting stained, non-functional wood caused by previous tapholes. There is a good deal of information on this under the "New Publications" section of the UVM PMRC webpage. http://www.uvm.edu/~pmrc/

JoeJ
02-16-2014, 06:17 AM
When I started with tubing 11 years ago, I used 24" drop lines. New woods, most of the trees had never been taped. I re-tubed 6 years ago and went with 32" drop lines. I just added 2000 taps this summer and now am using 40" drops. The taping band is much larger and the extra drop length will give plenty of reach to stay away from old tap holes in the future.

Cost analysis: 1- 500' roll semi rigid tubing, $48.00. 750-8" pieces in roll. extra 8" drop length: $.066 to go from 32" to 40", total cost on 2000 taps: $133. Not much of an added cost on
a $21,000. mainline and tubing installation.

wiam
02-16-2014, 06:21 AM