PDA

View Full Version : Motor starter needed.

maplecherry
02-13-2014, 05:30 PM
Setting up a new system and wondering if a motor starter is needed for the vacuum pump. Unit is 1phs, 7.5 hp, 230 v, 31 amp and will be turned on/off manually. Had differing opinions so far - wondering what some of you out there have for their set up.

Flat Lander Sugaring
02-13-2014, 05:50 PM
I would use one make sure there are heaters(overload) in it
for a few hundred dollar investment they well worth it

BAP
02-13-2014, 07:02 PM
Single Phase 7.5hp motor you would need one.

Flat Lander Sugaring
02-13-2014, 08:15 PM
Single Phase 7.5hp motor you would need one.
Hey Bap just in Walpole today at the agway store.
Yea should really have a motor starter with overload but I know one guy who use breaker to turn his 7.5 on. I dont recommend it but will work

ToadHill
02-13-2014, 09:16 PM
I'm not an electrician and don't pretend to be one. I have the same motor you're using and I called CDL. I asked their technician and he said I didn't need one. I'm using a fused knife switch.

Flat Lander Sugaring
02-14-2014, 04:14 AM
[QUOTE=ToadHill;239710] . I asked their technician and he said I didn't need one. I'm using a fused knife switch.[/QUOTE
And they aren't electricians either

First off, realize that Circuit breakers and Fuses perform the task of protecting the CIRCUIT, i.e. the wires, from fast acting short circuits such as a wire going to ground or one motor winding melting into another one. For this reason, CBs and fuses collectively are referred to as SCPDs, Short Circuit Protective Devices.