PDA

View Full Version : Welding my oil tank evap

bigjohnsons
02-09-2014, 08:05 PM
I am new to welding, this is my first project and today I cut the top off of the tank and cleaned out the sludge/oil. I wiped the inside down with rags etc.
Question: Is it ok to start welding the tank or should I take it outside and burn it out before I weld.

I was planning on burning it out but than I ended up going a little crazy wiping it down with rags and I was hoping to start the welding tomorrow night after work.

Thank you for any advise.

TonyL
02-09-2014, 08:26 PM
You're going to want to burn it out sooner or later, and if it were me I would burn it now, before any further fabrication takes place. Right now it's just a big open topped tank....doesn't get much easier than that.

Machinist67
02-09-2014, 08:36 PM
I would agree to burn it now so you do not have problems with perocity in the welds.

WESTMAPLES
02-09-2014, 11:50 PM
I built a few thing out of 275 gal oil tanks. I did scoop the sludge out and I would cut up 1 or 2 pallets and burn it hot for a few if you get it too hot for a long period it will warp bad , wavy most of the time good luck oil tanks make good small inexpensive arch

optionguru
02-10-2014, 09:21 AM
I burned mine out before doing much to it. The only thing I would do is weld in a cross brace of angle iron before burning it out. When I cut the top of mine the sides bowed out a couple of inches. I think this would be even worse when you get it hot.

woolermaple
02-10-2014, 06:52 PM
I just started building a 9 foot arch out of an oil tank today, I cut it in half and burned out the sludge and oil with no issues and warping. got hot enough to burn the paint off the outside of it.
-I will post pictures on this site when I am done i got a lot of info off this site looking at old threads, was a lot of help.

CincySyrupPusher
02-11-2014, 12:17 PM
Good luck on the build! Hope you get it done before the sweet starts flowing hard.

About to tap here in SW ohio!