PDA

View Full Version : spouts and tubing cleaning and replacement

dogwood farm
02-02-2014, 10:39 PM
I'm new to all this, so please understand. this is my second year so my spouts and tubing are one year old. they were left in the woods and not cleaned. now I don't know what is the best way to clean the tubing and spouts. I've heard spouts should be cut off and replaced every year. is this true and if yes why? thanks

BreezyHill
02-03-2014, 06:44 AM
Annual spouts is a way of increasing production by limiting the amount of bacteria into the new tap hole. The contamination will cause premature closure of the hole by the tree.
I clean the lines as soon as the season ends with a solution of 20% Clorox:80% water. This solution is sucked thru the lines followed by the spout being brushed and another shot of cleaner. This is followed by a rinsing application of about 8 oz water.
There is a concern about squirrels being drawn to the salts of the Clorox but I have three sons that enjoy target practice. I did this as a kid and we have only had a problem one time, when I was 8 or 9 and was not throwing down lead yet.
It is easiest to wash at the end of the season using vacuum to wash away the sugar and kill the contaminates and seal the lines for a year.

Cleaning is some what time consuming but it helps us to produce more gallons of syrup.

We Change spouts annually with clear CDL spouts and drops every three years; BUT we run a releaser that does not allow the back flow of sap in the lines that mechanical releasers do. This may be a portion of our past success.

If you are using gravity then washing is much more difficult and usually requires pumping backwards thru the line. Our old system was a pressure pump and an air compressor that would mix air with the solution to pulsate the lines. Then a rinse and seal up the spouts. This really sucked and got solutions every where. Don't use Clorox in this scenario. You will also attract deer to chew the lines.