PDA

View Full Version : First Time Boiling on an Evaporator (Mason 2x4) - Got a Few Questions

bigschuss
02-02-2014, 03:16 PM
Hello everyone...after 8 or 9 years out in the back yard with the kids I will be in my new sugar shack for the first time this March boiling on my Mason 2x4. I am a complete beginner with an evaporator and just have a few questions.

1. The arch and pan gasket that came with the evaporator...does that just get glued to the arch rail with some kind of high-temp. gasket cement?

2. I'd like to get a dial thermometer from Bascom's. They have many listed...3" and 5"....different size stems...an some that are listed as 0-50 and/or 20-240. Can somebody please tell me what those last numbers refer to?

3. I also bought a 9x9" filter tank from Bill. The filters for these kind of tanks I see on Bascom's...are they reusable?

Sorry for the very basic questions. Thanks in Advance for the help.

filb972
02-02-2014, 04:34 PM
Hello, I too am very new but I got the same evaporator and filter tank from Bill. The pan gasket I got with mine had a tacky side with paper on it so I just peeled off the paper and stuck it to the arch. The thermometers are Bascoms 3" which I also got from Bill. I believe the 0-50 is for your evaporator pan as it is calibrated in boiling water and set to zero so when it reaches 7 degrees it is supposed to be "finished syrup". I think the 20-240 is for bottling such as your filter tank. The cone filters are reusable but you want a prefilter in it. From my understanding you only wash it in warm water(no detergents) and do not wring out as it will damage it.

maple flats
02-02-2014, 04:49 PM
What he said, that is correct. Have fun, but caution, this IS addictive.

BAP
02-02-2014, 06:09 PM