PDA

View Full Version : Cleaning Oil Residue from Barrel

SeanD
01-31-2014, 06:16 PM
I just picked up some very nice barrels that had olive oil in them. Soap, hot water and a ton of sloshing and rinsing got them very clean including the smell, but there is a very thin residue left behind when I run my finger inside the bung.

I'll be cutting a hole in the side of a couple of them to make dump stations and I'll be able to reach in and scrub those out, but I'd prefer not to cut the others. What could I use to break down the oil without being able to reach in and scrub the inside?

Will vinegar work or will that make things worse?

Sean

harrison6jd
01-31-2014, 06:56 PM
PBW (powdered brewery wash) is something i use to clean just about everything. ive cleaned things others threw away and made them like new. i have no experience with olive oil but there is alot of info on the net .

SeanD
01-31-2014, 07:25 PM
Thanks. The description and reviews for that sound like what I need. Unfortunately, the local home brew supplier doesn't carry it. They have Star San. Ever used that?

rayi
02-01-2014, 12:09 AM
Star San is not a cleaner. It's for getting beer and wine equipment as close to sterile as possible. The equipment has to be clean. Try Midwest brewery

SeanD
02-01-2014, 06:39 AM
Great. Thanks.

Sean

harrison6jd
02-01-2014, 04:58 PM
let us know what works for you when you get done. always interested in the good and the bad for future reference. thanks

SeanD
02-02-2014, 05:14 PM
The PBW worked great. Thank you SO much for the info! The inside feels just as clean as the outside and the barrels smell like virgin plastic. The other barrels that I cut open to get inside of got a good scrubbing with a very mild mix of soap and there is no discernible difference between the two. They are both VERY clean. I feel very comfortable putting these barrels right to use.