PDA

View Full Version : peremate flow rate vs maxium feed flow rate

chrisnjake9
01-26-2014, 09:53 AM
I have a home built ro that I have been using for three years. I am currently using a fluid tech 330 gph pump I am thinking about replacing it with a 660 gph fluid tech but don't want to exceed the membrane capacity the permeate flow rate says 2600 gpd but maxium feed is 14 gpm ? can some one explain this and will the bigger pump work and process the sap faster without hurting membrane

TunbridgeDave
01-26-2014, 10:14 AM
That's seems easy to answer. The feed rate is 14 gpm or 840 gph so the bigger pump would not be a problem. However if the rated permeate capacity is 2600gpd or 1.8gpm you don't want to crank the pressure up and exceed that amount on the permeate flow meter or you may blow out the membrane. A 330 gph pump should handle 3 4x40 membranes. How many do you have and what are you getting for benchmarks with your current pump? Also are you putting a bigger motor on there to drive the bigger pump?

SWEETER CREATIONS
01-26-2014, 10:14 AM
My belief is that 2600 gallon per day is for an 8 hour day or 5.33 gallons per minute , so if my thinking is correct buying a bigger pump WIll have adverse effects on the membranes. Not sure if this is correct, only my 2 cents. Mike

chrisnjake9
01-26-2014, 10:21 AM
yes bigger 2.5 hp motor up from 1.5 hp. im running 2 xle 4040s flow rates depend on my pressures I can process 500 gallons of sap in about 2 hrs with pressures around 250 to 300 or let it run all night while sleeping at around 125-150

BreezyHill
01-26-2014, 12:11 PM