PDA

View Full Version : Need advice for a new small setuo

poulin
01-19-2014, 02:31 PM
Hi all,

I am new in this wonderful maple syrup world !

I have an old 2X7 evaporator. The pans seems obsolete but the arch and fire are correct.

I plan to tap 30 - 50 trees in the next 2-3 years. After that we'll see.

I am thinking about buying a 2x4 flat continuous flow new pan and fits it on my evaporator. Obviously would install metal sheets to fill the empty room.

Would it be a good setup ? Better idea ?

Thanks

Ausable
01-19-2014, 02:49 PM
poulin - It is hard to help without a picture or two. That said - I wouldn't waste all that heated space. A 2 x 3 heated space with nothing on it. Maybe some kind of a preheater pan - if You don't want to make it part of your continuous flow pan. How many sections does this 2 x 4 flat continuous flow pan have? Maybe hook a 2 x 3 pan on to it and use all that heated surface space - just a thought. ----Mike----

poulin
01-19-2014, 03:06 PM
I forgot to mention i will mostly boil on the w-ends only.

Ryan August
01-19-2014, 04:16 PM
I get what mike said on why waste space but I also here you, don't want to spend money on pans to fill the entire space. Maybe go with your idea but get a pot and put it on the sheet metal. Can act as a pre heater and a finisher pot. With a 2x7, I think you need seven gallons for one inch deep boil. My gues is need to boil 200 plus gallons prior to draw off. My math could be off. With only thirty taps, you will only have 300 or so gallons of sap all year

poulin
01-19-2014, 04:39 PM
Money is always an issue but here my main concern is to get a boiling tool that fits as well as possible the sap quantity i will likely get with that few taps. The idea of utilizing the heat as as preheat device is good, never thought about that.

I even thought about selling the whole thing and buy a new smaller one, but i'm exploring if i could not only change the pans setup as i know in the future i'll get more taps.

MarkL