PDA

View Full Version : What temperature do you guys turn off vacuum pump?

Starting Small
01-11-2014, 08:40 PM
This is my first year with high vac. I got to thinking how cold does it have to get before you will turn off your vacuum pump? I am assuming there is a rule of thumb. I was thinking sap is not going to freeze at 28-30 degrees since the sap is moving through the lines. Does sap stop flowing from the trees at a lower temp on vac than with buckets? Can sap still flow on vac even if the temps are a few degrees below freezing due to the lower pressure at the taphole?
-Dave

Brian Ryther
01-11-2014, 08:52 PM
Turn it off in April.

01-11-2014, 08:53 PM
What kind of pump do you have?

Starting Small
01-11-2014, 08:59 PM
It is a Delaval 73. Thanks,
-Dave

shane hickey
01-11-2014, 09:19 PM
I shut mine off at 20 or under otherwise they're pumping

spud
01-12-2014, 06:33 AM
This is my first year with high vac. I got to thinking how cold does it have to get before you will turn off your vacuum pump? I am assuming there is a rule of thumb. I was thinking sap is not going to freeze at 28-30 degrees since the sap is moving through the lines. Does sap stop flowing from the trees at a lower temp on vac than with buckets? Can sap still flow on vac even if the temps are a few degrees below freezing due to the lower pressure at the taphole?
-Dave

Once the sap freezes in the drops and lateral lines there is no real point to having vacuum on. In the morning you should turn on the vacuum before the sap starts running. The vacuum will help break up the frozen sap in the lateral lines faster then if you just wait for the sun to thaw things. The sun will start warming the tubing and the vacuum will draw pieces of frozen sap a little bit at a time down the line and into the mainline. No mainline should ever be froze up so the tubing would be the only thing to thaw out. On my South/East side of the woods I get sap to start running as early as 9:00am some days.

Spud

wiam