PDA

View Full Version : Newbie in Orange County

Hurlmon
01-07-2014, 02:42 PM
Hello all.

I'm new to this. This year will be my first season. I am doing it with my son. We did a garden this year and that went well so I figured that we needed a fun winter "thing".

Thanks to this site I think (hope) I am ready to go. I have everything for a basic block arch with restaurant pans, and collection buckets and stuff. We will have about 10-15 taps.

My main uncertainty is when to tap. I know 40ish in the day freeing at night, but I am reading info on hear about a "Jan Thaw"
and my upcoming forecast looks like the attached pic.

if that forecast stays true, do i tap or wait till its actually in the 40's since this is the Jan Thaw that I see mentioned in other threads? I don't want to tap early then miss the real run if the taps start to close.
I am located in Eastern Orange County

Thanks for any info.,
Kevin

whitetail farms
01-07-2014, 09:38 PM
the jan. thaw really is only tapped by producers with tubing special check valve spouts and normally using a vacuum pump, if your on buckets I would wait till the end of February so you don't risk closing up your tap hole with bacteria to soon.

adk1
01-08-2014, 06:44 AM
Yeah I would suggest presidents week there. Kids should be out of school on vacation. In your area that should be about right.

Hurlmon
01-08-2014, 07:34 AM
Great.

Thanks a lot.

Maple88
01-08-2014, 02:19 PM
I'm also in Orange. Tapped first week of FEB last year and did fine - 2013 was a great season for unsophisticated gravity-types like me. Hope the weird weather won't wreck this year's harvest...

jimbo 2232
01-16-2014, 09:26 AM
I too am in northern orange county- watch 10 day forecasts but figure usually about the first or second week in feb.

georgelineman
01-17-2014, 08:51 PM
Hey jimbo 2232 ,Three of us here on the Trader are in Cornwall, Orange County ,what town are you in? I tap around the 17th of Feb.

Maple88
01-17-2014, 10:01 PM