PDA

View Full Version : Seeking recommendation on an evaporator and pan combo

Balsam Hills
01-04-2014, 08:21 PM
Hi all,

I've been sugaring for about 15 years and have slowly expanded to about 400 gravity fed taps. Up until now I've used a homemade concrete arch with a 2x6 divided pan. I don't anticipate expanding much more than where I'm at.

I would like to become more efficient as my job and family duties limit my ability to spend all night boiling. Do you have any recommendations for an optimal efficient set up (i.e. evaporator/pan combo)?

Much appreciated,

Scott

jmayerl
01-04-2014, 08:41 PM
I would recommend that you get ahold of Jim at smoky lake maple for a few reasons, 1st off you can jump on 21 and be at his place in probably under 3 hours( so he is a local manufacturer). 2nd you can ask any of us that own his pans or equipment at we will all say they are top notch works or art( you won't even want to boil on it they look so nice. 3rd is price, I bought my pans a few years ago and spent much lest than if I bought from a major manufacturer. 4th he is just a nice guy that is very passionate about maple( he gave up making syrup for the last few years to make sure his customers had there pans and service during the season.

Depending on how much time you have to boil, you might consider something in the size of a 2x8, or a 3x8. Again it all depends on how much time you have. I run a high efficacy 2x7 and get almost 50gph. I had 1100 taps last year and boiled all day every day but I have the time. You can always get a hobby RO and make it also very manageable with time constraints.

adk1
01-04-2014, 08:41 PM