PDA

View Full Version : Memtech RO

Quabbin Hill Farms
01-02-2014, 03:50 PM
I purchased an older Memtech RO last year it has three 4"x19" membranes in it. It did not work well and I suspect the memebranes need to be be cleaned or replaced. Has anyone had the opportunity to take one of the units apart and remove the membrane. There is a brass ring in the end I have a manual and it talks about a special tool (that I don't have) to remove the membrane. Let me know if anyone has had one of these apart and how to go about it.

Thanks

Greg

madmapler
01-02-2014, 05:17 PM
I'm no expert but that size membrane seems to be an oddball. Maybe look into changing to a 4"x40" membrane. Joe at Atlantic RO could fix you up reasonable. What size pumps do you have?

NH Maplemaker
01-02-2014, 06:33 PM
Here is Joe's info WWW.AtlanticRO.com 910-457-9336 Joe is the nicest guys on the face of the earth!

tuckermtn
01-02-2014, 09:55 PM
I have an older (1982) memtek that has both a 8" and a 4" membrane. If yours is like mine, the brass ring is a three piece brass retaining ring, easy to remove if you can push the end caps in toward the middle of the membrane they should be easy to move with a small pick. What size pump do you have on it? is it a magnikst m-38 (red piston pump) if it is an m-38 you could easily run a single 8" rather than the three 4" membranes. post a picture if you can...

Quabbin Hill Farms
01-03-2014, 09:21 AM
My pump is Y81N 1.5 hp motor it is a Magnikst pump.

madmapler
01-03-2014, 02:55 PM
FYI, I was just checking Joes website and he does'nt list that size. He sells a 4"x21" but its about the same price as the 4"x40". A 40" vessel is around that price as well.

wiam
01-03-2014, 03:04 PM
Are they fiberglass? Mine are. Only problem I had with mine is aluminum caps got pitted where the o-rings sit and I had them machined and a fatter o-ring. Is each membrane in a separate housing?

BreezyHill
01-03-2014, 03:32 PM