PDA

View Full Version : removable insulation under raised flue?

SilverLeaf
12-17-2013, 02:17 PM
Ok. I think I'm gonna do it! upgrade from 2x6 flat pan to 2x4 raised flue/2x2 finish pan.

Question: Current evaporator has 4" airspace under flat pan, which works well. That spacing is made via a layer of vermiculite. For raised flue though I know I'll need to ramp it up to just under the flues. Never seen a raised flue in person before so not exactly sure how it's typically done.

Conundrum: I don't want to make it "permanent". I'd like to have the flexibility (if its a bad year; or if I burn my pan - :cry: - or something) to quickly switch back to the flat pan. So whatever insulation I stick in there to raise it needs to be easily removable (and reinstallable).

I was thinking ceramic blanket might work? - at 1" thick I'd just have to roll like 4 layers of it in place. And it'd be super easy to remove. But I've never worked with ceramic blanket before. Anything about having 4" of ceramic blanket sitting on top of a layer of vermiculite that might be a bad idea? How heavy is it - will it compress ok (will some of the draft find its way between the layers, rather than stay on top by the flues)?

Any other ideas?

red maples
12-17-2013, 03:22 PM
First GOOD IDEA. that will drastically improve your GPH rate with that 2x6.

yes you are going to need to move that up. I added forced air to my 2x6 Drop flu and wanted to move the ramp up as well so I added a few bricks to front at a steep angle, then filled it with vermiculite put a piece of 1" ceramic blanket over it and just put split bricks on top to hold everything in place and it worked great as I was able to adjust things to play around with height and where the start of the ramp should be.

found out 1.5 inches was about the best most even boil. but that's my rig. not sure what the raised flu distance should be.

millscrest
12-17-2013, 03:41 PM