PDA

View Full Version : 14 X 20 Post and beam build. Updates with my progress.

Starting Small
11-29-2013, 03:01 PM
I decided to start this thread to document my progress of building my new sugar shack. I will be under extreme pressure to get it completed by February 1st. I am lucky to have found a great guy who is willing to teach my brother and I how to build post and beam structures. I will include pictures and do my best to answer questions for anyone although I am new to post and beam building. We will not be using long nails to tie the pieces together but using mortice and tenon to give it that sugarhouse look. I was originally going to use metal pins but since this guy is willing to teach us mortice and tenon I figured why not. My brother and I are going to work at his saw mill to offset some of the cost of the wood. The guy in the picture is my dad not myself. He was helping to shoot grades. I hope it gets done in time, thanks for reading!
-Dave

RC Maple
11-30-2013, 08:49 AM
That sounds like a great project! Building the shack was the most rewarding part of my whole experience. Learning a new skill with the mortice and tenon construction will be neat. Good luck with your building and will look forward to the pictures.

unc23win
11-30-2013, 05:10 PM
Glad to see you got started Dave good luck!

Starting Small
11-30-2013, 06:55 PM
Thanks guys, I will keep you updated on pics. Monday I will be working on the sawmill with my new "'mentor" to work off some of the cost of the wood. I am very lucky to have someone willing to teach me a skill like this. I am pumped. I am nervous about the 2 months till tapping since I also have to setup the woods on vac for the first time. My end goal is to be able to have a pancake breakfast for friends and family in March at the new shack. Thanks again,
-Dave

Ligonierbeech
12-02-2013, 10:34 AM
Hey sounds good nice to have someone willing to teach you. Good luck!

Jmsmithy
12-02-2013, 06:13 PM