PDA

View Full Version : SAP Reality TV

peckfarm
11-12-2013, 04:19 PM
Folks,
Been awhile since I wondered the hallowed threads of Maple Trader so this subject may have already come up.
I just received an email from a reality tv producer looking to film sugar makers. This smells bad folks. My point of view is that our industry needs to maintain a level of professionalism that will not be served well by this type of exposure. I will not respond to this request, I hope you all think the same. The body of the email is as follows:

"Hey!

My name is Jake Rosen and I am a Development Producer, at a Crybaby Media in NYC. We have created shows for History, Discovery, Nat Geo, and many other networks. I am always on the hunt for new show ideas and larger than life characters! While researching, I came across American Sugar Shacks and now I can't stop thinking about this pursuit for LIQUID GOLD. If your business is SAP - this is for you!

We want to more about your operation and guys!! Doesn't matter how big or how small your operation may be. Looking for the biggest characters of the SAP WORLD. If interested, call or email anytime and we will be in touch! And hurry up, cause we'll be coming up to New England in the next couple weeks to film a team we already love! Looking for 2-3 more teams! Talk soon!"

Flat Lander Sugaring
11-12-2013, 06:15 PM
Thad will sign up for this one

syrup2nv
11-12-2013, 06:24 PM
I also recieved the same email today.:confused:

happy thoughts
11-12-2013, 06:26 PM
It sounds like this show is already in the works??? Someone suggested the idea here last year, just for fun I think.

http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?17482-Maple-Makers-Could-it-be-the-next-Swamp-People

Most who replied to that thread were against it but had some fun with it. I dunno. I suppose the publicity could be good for the industry though "Swamp People" did not give me the urge to go out and buy alligator meat :)

maple flats
11-12-2013, 06:36 PM