PDA

View Full Version : Releasers ????

K.I. Joe
11-03-2013, 06:52 AM
Okay guys, one thing that I have not seen on this forum is the difference between releasers. Why would you chose a single over a double, a mechanical over electrical, Continuous vacuum. What are the pros and cons of each?

MISugarDaddy
11-03-2013, 05:03 PM
According to a Leader sales rep that put on a presentation at Sugar Bush Supplies in MI yesterday, the electrical double releaser would maintain constant vacuum. However, they operated a double mechanical releaser as part of the presentation and the vacuum dropped only one pound during the cannister switch, and that was only very momentary. He admitted that you don't fully lose your vacuum, only that it temporarily drops during the switch.

red maples
11-03-2013, 05:34 PM
I am no expert and I am still learning but

There are different reasons, if you don't have power obviously can't use an electric and there is price factor with good pumps which you need they are pretty pricey. But if you have a setup where they are near or at the sugarhouse you can set them up to move sap around the sugarhouse too.

Doubles are good and singles are good. It also comes down to size of operations how much money you wanna dish out.

The more continuous the vacuum you have obviously you will get more sap but at the same time if you have a good pump pulling moving enough CFM's and your set up is very good with check valves, tight system etc. then singles are just fine. your Vac. level will come back quickly after the unit dumps.

For me I would like to go to a double but for the size I need they need a little more time to work out some bugs. So I am going with a single for this year and and money is tight so the double are another $400 from the single. So I will run the sinlge and in a few years I will hopefully upgrade to a double when I know they will work good!!!