PDA

View Full Version : Suagr Shack Location

country350
11-01-2013, 09:54 AM
This is my second year sugaring and I'm hooked. :) I graduated from a turkey fryer to a half pint evaporator for this season. I am looking into building a sugar shack and want to get some feedback on where to put it. One option is to build it next to my pole barn. If I went with this route it would be located about 35 feet away from the pole barn. Is this too close? Would it be a fire hazard? The pole barn has 14 foot high sidewalls so it's pretty tall. The other option would be to build the sugar shack out in the woods by my pond. The only thing that would be close by would be some trees that I could trim. Thoughts? Thanks!

maineboiler
11-01-2013, 11:37 AM
35 feet from the barn sounds like far enough. Make sure your smoke stack is tall enough, that probably is more important. Are you using wood or a oil burner ? Oil is a lot safer in this regard but more expensive. Another bit of advise--set it up so your sap tank will be on the north side and well shaded

country350
11-01-2013, 12:02 PM
How tall do I need to make the smoke stack? My evaporator is wood fired. Is it best to put a cap on the smoke stack to reduce air borne ash and debris? I've been reading and seeing pictures of people with huge flames coming out of their smoke stacks while boiling so I'm a little leery about being so close to my barn.

Thanks for the tip on the sap tank location.

happy thoughts
11-01-2013, 12:19 PM
What do your local codes and insurance agent say? I believe the general rule is the stack should be 2 feet higher than anything combustible within 10 ft but you should check your local building codes. I'd absolutely have a cap/spark arrestor if only for my own piece of mind if not required. Sparks will really fly on windy days. It will also keep rain out of your rig.

maineboiler
11-01-2013, 04:26 PM