PDA

View Full Version : flat pan design

Aaron S
07-29-2013, 07:32 PM
Hi, I'm new to this but I have read a lot of the home made section and still have a couple questions about a flat pan with dividers.
on a 2 by 4 flat pan I usually see 3 sections ( 2 dividers ) running lengthway. would more be better ? should the last section be narrower ? what about running dividers width way ? the openings at the divider ends are how high 1 1/2 ". If the sap level should be only 1" to 2" does that mean the opening should be above the level of the sap in the pan.... I know thats a lot but I don't want to build something wrong. Hoping to get one made locally so I could really use some advice.
Thanks
Aaron S

PerryW
07-30-2013, 11:32 AM
Hi, I'm new to this but I have read a lot of the home made section and still have a couple questions about a flat pan with dividers.
on a 2 by 4 flat pan I usually see 3 sections ( 2 dividers ) running lengthway. would more be better ? should the last section be narrower ? what about running dividers width way ? the openings at the divider ends are how high 1 1/2 ". If the sap level should be only 1" to 2" does that mean the opening should be above the level of the sap in the pan.... I know thats a lot but I don't want to build something wrong. Hoping to get one made locally so I could really use some advice.
Thanks
Aaron S

I would think you could run the dividers either way, in fact, running them the width-way, would allow to feed sap in the back of the pan and draw off at the front. I would keep all sections the same width. The cutout openings at the divider ends are usually 3-4 inches high.

Aaron S
08-04-2013, 06:07 AM