PDA

View Full Version : Used Vacuum Pumps

Scribner's Mountain Maple
07-24-2013, 07:26 PM
I am new to the different types vacuum systems. I looked at a used Busch Rotary Claw Pump (5HP) today and really don't know how to evaluate it to know if;

a. it is a reasonable deal? (this pump is 3 years used and is priced at about 75% of a new pump)
b. is it in good working order? (owner said he has to put 1/2 oz of ATF during the season daily or every other day)
c. should I just get a new one?

Thanks,
Ben

spud
07-25-2013, 05:34 AM
[QUOTE=Scribner's Mountain Maple;227303]I am new to the different types vacuum systems. I looked at a used Busch Rotary Claw Pump (5HP) today and really don't know how to evaluate it to know if;

a. it is a reasonable deal? (this pump is 3 years used and is priced at about 75% of a new pump)
b. is it in good working order? (owner said he has to put 1/2 oz of ATF during the season daily or every other day)
c. should I just get a new one?

If you try to save a buck it will wind up costing you two. I know there are Traders with different feelings on this subject (buying used vacuum pumps). I can only speak for myself and my feeling is stay away from used Vacuum pumps. I have posted in the past that I know several people that have bought used Vacuum pumps. They were all told they worked great but every one of them had problems (some major) that cost them more money in the end then buying a new one. If you can afford a new pump you would be much better off. What I am not saying is all used Vacuum pumps are junk. There are some good used pumps for sale I'm sure. It's just I have never seen one. If it was me I would only buy new. I wish you all the best.

Spud

07-25-2013, 06:21 AM
I would steer clear of it I don't think ATF should have been put in there I know a little bit of water will wreck havoc on it.

07-25-2013, 07:04 AM
Thanks for your feedback guys. I was feeling concerned about spending that kind of money on used.