PDA

View Full Version : Small Pump for High Vacuum

GeneralStark
06-13-2013, 08:51 AM
I may be setting up a small woods this fall and am wondering what folks are using for pumps for high vacuum (25-28") for 300-500 taps. I have lots of experience with liquid ring pumps, but most I have seen are larger than necessary. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

spencer11
06-13-2013, 06:08 PM
I have a gast dry vane pump, it does pull high vac, it's 8 cfm. Not sure what model it is but I would look into one of those, mine was given to me, but they can be found pretty cheap

whalems
06-13-2013, 06:36 PM
There are a lot of gast pumps on ebay at very reasonable prices right now. I have a 2565 and it was pulling 25" on 500 all season.

madmapler
06-13-2013, 06:58 PM
The gast 2565 and the 2567 are the highest hg. pumps with the highest cfms. 28 hgs at 0cfms. They can reach 21cfms but I dont know how many hgs. they'll be doing at that rate. The 2565 is a pulley mount and the 2567 mounts to the motor shaft. I'll be running 2- 2565s on a 3.5 hp gas engine this season for 600 taps. They're nice little pumps for not a lot of money.

nymapleguy607
06-14-2013, 04:33 AM
I have a kinney 2 stage piston pump I'm installing for next year, 29" at 15cfm according to the spec sheet

spud
06-14-2013, 06:09 AM
I have a kinney 2 stage piston pump I'm installing for next year, 29" at 15cfm according to the spec sheet

If you don't mind me asking how big of a pump is this? How much did it cost? I have a Kinney 10 HP and I love it.

Spud

GeneralStark
06-14-2013, 08:53 AM
Thanks for the ideas. Keep them coming. After a quick search it looks like the Gast 2567 is pretty easy to find for around $500 bucks. Only 1.1 cfm at 25" though.

I assume that you guys that are running these at 25" are really staying on top of the leaks. Are you running the pump 24/7 during the season? Are these pumps built to last under continuous duty? How much mainline do you have set up?