PDA

View Full Version : Basics on Air over Fire?

MapleMark753
05-07-2013, 11:07 AM
If somebody could explain the air over fire process, how its set up, how it works, maybe how they've built one and had good success with it that would be great.
If there's an active thread elsewhere here I didn't see it. From the one I saw it looks like a person who can build stuff can build one, but it needs welding. Is that right? thanks, Mark

mapleack
05-07-2013, 11:19 AM
http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?17239-AUF-AOF-ad-blower-questions
http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?7884-Adding-over-fire-combustion-air
http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?18203-AOF-arch-build-help

maple flats
05-07-2013, 12:00 PM
Here is a link I posted 3 yrs ago. http://mapletrader.com/community/showthread.php?7884-Adding-over-fire-combustion-air In the first post is another link to the resource I used to design the project. I am a very poor welder at best so I cut all of the pieces to length and had a friend weld it. I used 2x2 tubing 1/16" wall for the air duct. The directions suggested 3" but I used what I had available.
I am very pleased with the performance. My boil increased and my wood consumption dropped. I give some numbers in the original post that have changed as I got used to the set up. I now fire every 9 minutes, only about 1 arm load at a time of wrist sized wood. I fill one half at a fueling and the other half 9 minutes later. I refuel by a timer. When the timer sounds I reset it for 9 minutes and then fuel as fast as is practical. In the beginning I shut off the high pressure blower to fuel, but I then discovered it was unnecessary, when I fuel, I leave the blower running which supplies both over fire and under fire air. I just open the door and add wood. I get no smoke or sparks out the front. I get a nice hard boil once