PDA

View Full Version : Increase Pan Efficiency?

MapleMark753
05-02-2013, 02:09 PM
Hello-- I have been trying different ideas to increase efficiency in boiling, and a different thread here piqued my interest in pan efficiency. I am not a maple expert by any means, (this is just our third year) but in my past career I was trained in and became fairly good at elements of heat transfer, what it does, and doesn't do. So, back to pan efficiency. I had thought that some type of coating on the bottom of pans (flat for now in my instance) may increase boiling efficiency. Most use stainless steel of some sort, and a lot are polished. This is good in many ways, but may not be the best for heat transfer to the sap, which is what I want. Polished stainless will reflect quite a bit of the heat exerted on it. That part of stainless isn't optimal. I got some 2000 degree paint, painted (several coats) one half of the bottom of a stainless pan and left the other half plain stainless. The color is flat black. Flat black is probably the best color to use, I think. I put the pan, with two inches of water in it, on a double propane burner, and watched to see what would happen. Long story short, the heat painted side boiled, the unpainted stainless did not boil at all. I used a medium heat level. The unpainted side would have boiled, but I shut it off after seeing the painted side boil vigorously first. Then after shutting it down, I waited a couple minutes, and tried to grab the pan by the ends to lift it off the burners. Mistake, but there was good info there, as the painted bottom side was still too hot to handle, while the unpainted side I could hold on to. Lastly, I looked at the bottom of the pan afterward, and the heat painted side had no burning, no bubbling of the paint, and appeared fine. I can post pics, if anyone is interested.