PDA

View Full Version : Trees with low sugar content. Is there such a thing as a bad bush?

madmapler
04-23-2013, 10:06 PM
Hello, I'm relatively new to this and I need a little guidance. I'm looking at investing in some pipeline on a nearby farm and in the course of negotiations, I found out from another farmer in the area that the place where I'm considering was tapped a long time ago but was given up on because of low sugar content. I'm just trying to get some ideas as to whether or not this could be true before I take it to the landowner. The hillside really appears to be perfect in every way as far as I can see(all 18" to 28" sugar maples ,good slope, great sun exposure) and I know that another guy also has his eye on it if I dont act. I've never heard of this happening around here except for with some riverside trees but this hillside is dry. Are there situations or conditions where an orchard of trees consistantly test low or is it most likely that it could have been a bad year or two. The farmer said that they tested around 1.5 but thats all he remembered. I would greatly appreciate anyones honest input. Thanks.

bairdswift
04-24-2013, 05:56 AM