PDA

View Full Version : Pellet evaporator- anyone with experience?

tuckermtn
04-17-2013, 06:36 PM
There have been sever threads on here about pellet burning evaporators, but to my knowledge there is not someone on the Trader that has used either the CDL or the D&G models that are out there. Lapierre has one, but don't think they have sold any of the $45,000 arches in the States.

I am looking for some real-life feedback from someone who has one of these rigs, as the feedback that I have been getting from salesmen in the industry is NOT encouraging. I am most concerned about reliability. I am not interested in something I have to tinker with.

I am leaning toward oil as an alternative for next year. I make my living in the forest products community, so to admit that I am looking at oil is almost a sacrilege. With my declining health (ALS) if I want to still make syrup, I need to do something other than chuck cordwood.

So looking for feedback or a connection with someone who has run a pellet arch.

The next thread will be some oil fired evaporator questions if it comes to that.

Thanks-

-Eric

wiam
04-17-2013, 08:49 PM
There is a guy in Corinth, VT that has a wood chip set up. I do not know much about it.

Mark
04-17-2013, 09:30 PM
I burn chips but but could burn pellets. With pellets you would have to have a storage and handling system that takes room. Pellets are still half the cost of oil. The arch would cost a bunch more. How long would it take to recover the cost? If I had health problems I would rather flip a switch to fire the arch.

sam1234
04-18-2013, 04:39 AM
There have been sever threads on here about pellet burning evaporators, but to my knowledge there is not someone on the Trader that has used either the CDL or the D&G models that are out there. Lapierre has one, but don't think they have sold any of the $45,000 arches in the States.