PDA

View Full Version : Running out of time for 2013

buck3m
04-05-2013, 06:05 AM
Little hope for even a mediocre season at this point. We've collected less sap for the whole season than we'd expect to get in one good day in a good year. The forecast is calling for about 2-3 more nights below freezing here in east central Minnesota, but we'll see. Some trees haven't dripped a drop all season. Hard to believe!

Boiled for about 4 hours yesterday and got some syrup which was fun, and fun is the whole point for us. We will certainly pick up some more sap and finish a little more syrup before we wrap things up.

Makes me look forward even more to next year. I predict a good one!

Kesky
04-05-2013, 08:00 AM
This is my first year! and i agree its not about the numbers its about the fun and getting out there enjoying the outdoors and the expierience! Im starting out with a few handfulls of taps, some havent ran at all yet, im at a total of 3 gallons of sap! But the best part is being out there and witnessing nature wake up from the long winter!

Mudcat_21
04-05-2013, 10:34 AM
Time is running short for the 2013 season, but it will at least be better then 2012! We are going to collect tonight and figure we will have around 300 gallons of sap. Like everyone else, we have trees that have opened up and are running great then you go to the next closest tree and it's dry as a bone. Oh well, we will get to fire the cooker again and smell that great aroma that comes from cooking!

chad
04-05-2013, 05:52 PM
don't give up hope so soon we all live here and we know how often the weather man is wrong

buck3m
04-06-2013, 05:58 AM
It's about 5:50 AM and I just noticed that more people are viewing Minnesota 2013 than any other category on the forum right now! Lots of us are up early checking the weather and seeing how everyone else is doing.

Haven't collected for a couple of days. There is some sap on the trees so we will collect and boil today. Tomorrow (Sunday) should run some!