PDA

View Full Version : Advice Needed

jow
04-02-2013, 12:53 PM
Hi Guys Newbie here

My son and I have the maple bug bad and would like to ramp up our rate of boil for next year.We currently tap 55 trees(large sugar maples)
I like the idea of doing batches,I farm full time and find it nice to fill up a pan and then go work and check on it periodically.We currently use propane as we heat our chicken barns with it and thinking if I could build or purchase a decent size batch boiler that burns propane I think that would be the easiest.(we wont rule out wood but really like the idea of propane).
We are boiling with a couple small flat pans on turkey fryers now.
Possibly ramp up to 75 taps for next year.
Any ideas or anyone know a company that makes a propane batch boiler and care to share that would be great

Thanks

325abn
04-02-2013, 05:25 PM
Never leave the pan unattended! Things can change very quickly in the pan.

jow
04-02-2013, 07:11 PM
So when there is 30 gallons of cold sap in evap I sit with it ?

jow
04-02-2013, 07:25 PM
I forgot to say I could attend it when it's close to syrup

TerryEspo
04-02-2013, 07:35 PM
Hi JOW:

I would say you could walk away with 30 gallons, but get to know your rig before walking away.

Now, 30 gallons at once is not the best way to boil. All say to be boiling 1"-2" at most and have new sap coming in replacing what your losing in steam.
Try to maintain your 1-2 inches of boiling sap.

I will flood my pan with 5 inches if I gotta walk away for a bit, let the fire relax, but only if needed, not often.

I will never leave the pan if I have had a boil going for awhile and the sap is changing colour towards syrup, its just risky business.

I dont know any companies that make propane arches but some people here have them that they made. A propane burning unit should be pretty easy to fabricate if your a tad handy.

Good luck.

Terry

psparr
04-02-2013, 07:48 PM