PDA

View Full Version : thin syrup

normad55
03-31-2013, 02:15 PM
i'm new to this and have a question

my first batch tast and looks good but is very thin like water. i boiled it to 219 - 220 deg. did i do something wrong

Run Forest Run!
03-31-2013, 02:21 PM
Normad55, it just needs to boil a little longer. Sometimes 219-220 is not enough. It depends on the barometric pressure the day you boil.

Don't forget that the syrup will thicken up a tiny bit after it's been chilled in the fridge, but if you would like it thicker then just put it back on the stove.

backcreek
03-31-2013, 03:18 PM
Buy a hydrometer. More people get in trouble going by temperature of your syrup than you can imagine. Ours comes off at between 221-224. All depends on your elevation and barometric pressure what the temp will be when it is syrup.

craig101
03-31-2013, 04:41 PM
i just made my first batch today, so i am not the answer guru, but I looked for 219 and then started testing for sheeting on a metal spoon. once i saw sheeting then i pulled it off. i only used a digital candy thermometer, might get a hydrometer next year.

Sweet Shady Lane
03-31-2013, 07:44 PM
I would buy a hydrometer and test it that way, You can still go by a temp. of 219 or so to get it close, But then test it with the hydro. It helped me get better syrup !!

backcreek
03-31-2013, 08:06 PM
Close is only good in hand grenades.

brass maple
03-31-2013, 08:24 PM