PDA

View Full Version : Float issues

mike first timer
03-29-2013, 09:59 AM
I have a 2x6 cdl raised flue. Last night i was boiling and when the flue pan boiling really hard my float shut off my incoming sap.I tried adding defoamer the only way to get it to work was to hold down on the float to let sap start flowing then it would work. It is almost like it gets locked up for some reason.

sams64
03-29-2013, 10:06 AM
Disclaimer - I am not a float expert

It sounds like your float is too light and is floating on the foam. Can you experiment by adding weight so that it has enough bouyancy to float on sap, but not so much bouyancy that it will float on foam?

Sam

western mainer
03-29-2013, 10:39 AM
I will some times have to hold down on the float. What I was told was to put a elbow on the end of your input so you don't get the wave going back it to the float box.
Brian

mike first timer
03-29-2013, 10:50 AM
Ok thanks for the replies. Brian has your season picked up yet?

western mainer
03-29-2013, 11:12 AM
Yes this past week it did big time, this week is a little slow but not bad. This coming week looks good also.
Brian

jrgagne99
03-29-2013, 11:19 AM
Disclaimer - I am not a float expert

It sounds like your float is too light and is floating on the foam. Can you experiment by adding weight so that it has enough bouyancy to float on sap, but not so much bouyancy that it will float on foam?

Sam

The average density of "foamy" liquid is lower than "non-foamy" liquid, so the float should sink lower in foamy syrup than in stagnant syrup. I know this is the case in white-water rafting or kayaking. It sounds like the agitation in the float box may causing the float to stick somehow. Is it hinged, or free-floating?

western mainer
03-29-2013, 12:11 PM