PDA

View Full Version : Want to go tubing next year

NirvanaFan
03-27-2013, 02:51 PM
A little background first...
This is my first year making syrup. I've tapped 24 trees and collected in gallon jugs attached to the spiles. I am making the syrup on my parent's land that is an hour away from where I live. My mother is kind enough to help out a bit, but she can't walk around the woods collecting gallon jugs all day. We are going to call it quits after boiling this weekend. We should finish after making between 5 and 6 gallons. That 5-6 gallons will be enough for my family, my parents, and Christmas presents for the year. This is good for us.

We've learned a lot. One of those things we learned is that carrying gallon (or 5 gallon) jugs around the woods is not fun. I have access to used, food grade, 55 gallon drums, for free. They contained sweetener for the local winery. So, the plan for next year is to plumb a couple of these together (or just use them) as storage containers.

Since I can't really make it down to my sugarbush during the week very easily, switching to tubing and 55 gallon drums will really make things easier for my mother (and me). If I get the wood around well before the season, she will even be able to boil during the week.

So......
I want to switch to tubing. Right now, I have no interest in going over 25 taps. 25 taps would provide plenty of syrup for our needs. Going with 3/4" (or 1/2") mainline is going to be expensive, and not something I really want to spend money on if I don't have to. I've read of people hooking up a bunch of taps to 5/16" and using that.

My sugarbush is pretty steep (20 degrees).

Would 5/16" tubing work for 25 taps on a pretty steep hill? I'm not 100% sure how far up the hill/mountain I would have to go to tap 25 trees, as I haven't walked that ridge in a few years. What would be the max length that 5/16" tubing should be run? I'm not opposed to running up 2 different ridges.

TRAILGUY
03-27-2013, 03:09 PM