PDA

View Full Version : RO pressure with regards to temperature

metzger1
03-26-2013, 07:44 AM
we have a Lapierre turbo 600 and in the manual it gives all this technical info about how the sap temp affects the processing, and how warmer or colder sap will effect the life of the membrane, but it doesn't give any simple parameters for the novice to understand where we should set the pressure in accordance with sap temperature in order to give the membrane a longer life. I have called them, but the techs I end up getting speak broken English, or keep giving me long formulas that I don't understand. There has got to be a rule of thumb... like if the sap temp is within this range, then it's best to run the pressure in this range, and if it's warmer go lower and if it's higher go higher....or something like that. Does anyone have a simple formula in this area? Thanks

bowhunter
03-26-2013, 05:31 PM
I'm a retired Chemical Engineer and have studied RO, but haven't operated one in maple sap application. If you don't get any good advice from others on the forum, I would be happy to look at the manual/technical info and try and interpret some of it for you. I have a pretty good understanding of how RO works with the affects of temperature, pressure and sugar concentration. If you send me a scan of the technical pages on temperature and pressure I'll do my best to give you some guidance. I assume they have either tables of data or they have curves showing the impact of pressure and temperature.

Dave

metzger1
03-26-2013, 06:04 PM
thank you bowhunter, and yes there is both tables of data and curves. Here is a link to the manual. The info I was referring to starts on page 25 http://www.sugaringequipment.elapierre.com/down/203.pdf
thanks again for any insight you might be able to offer

bowhunter
03-27-2013, 10:29 AM
I looked at the manual and some other sources online and they really don't give you very much information, but here's what I can tell you: