PDA

View Full Version : So here goes!

jnmartin
03-25-2013, 11:47 AM
They say confession cleanses the soul...so I suppose I'll see how it works for cleansng the pan. I'm brand new to this hobby and have done lots of reading both here and other sites. After a week of collecting practically nothing from 22 taps Saturday we finally collected 11 gallons from 17 taps Saturday night. Sunday we took the opportunity to visit a couple of Sugarbush here in Northern lower Michigan. Well I don't have my block fire arch finished but yesterday afternoon I wasn't about to let something as minor as an arch deter me from making my first quart or so of syrup so I hooked up my fish cooker burner and put one of my brand new 12x24x8" steam pans on and proceeded with my first boil. Pre-heating on the cook stove inside it went along very smoothly and much quicker than I had thought/feared. So smoothly it went that by the time I poured in the last of the sap I thought I deserved a break for dinner and a couple of home brews.

I had what I thought was well over a gallon in the pan yet my thermometer indicated there was a good ways to go for it to be syrup. First mistake! So with a big self pat on the back I kicked back and enjoyed a wonderful dinner my wife prepared and even complimented myself on what an accomplished brewmaster I had become. Second mistake!

And finally, since I'm fairly recently retired I'm all about convenience. I set up the fish cooker and boiling operation right outside the front door so it would be easy to tote the pre-warmed sap out to keep the boil going. Third mistake!