PDA

View Full Version : Normal year in upstate?

1hardmaple
03-19-2013, 10:14 AM
Newbie here wondering if this is a normal year in NY as far as the weather has been? Or are we going to be going into overtime......even with this nasty weather I'm still seeing trees starting to bud up I'm still hoping to get another run but my taps haven't ran in about 2 weeks and tapped 4 weeks ago.

bowtie
03-19-2013, 10:35 AM
not sure there is a normal anymore. kind of, take what nature gives.

sugarman3
03-19-2013, 12:11 PM
This is "WHAT" use to be considered a normal season-MARCH15-APRIL 15,had a season like this 3 yrs ago.Hang in there it will happen,but be ready,it will be fast and furious and over before yu know it
vern

Dan Bolton
03-20-2013, 10:41 AM
Yeah it's definatley hard to describe what a normal season is anymore! Take last year for example! We hit 80 degrees here last week of last year plus it was a massive warm up and it ended it. We were done boiling all the tap's pulled and cleaned up by March 18:cry:. We have already made more syrup then last year. It has got to warm up some time. I would have to say it's colder then average for this time of year but i would rather it warm slow unlike last year. Good luck to all.

bowtie
03-20-2013, 12:23 PM
an old-time march 15th- april 15 th would be ok but this year according to forecasts i will not get any sort of run from last friday until at the earliest the 29th-30th maybe later. so if it going to go it is going to very compact. i just have a hard time believing the maples will not pop buds as soon as we get a "warm up". i know some of you guys are having decent years but this is terrible for anybody in the southern tier or ne pa. even with a good last two weeks of the season i am going to hard pressed to equal last year and i have twice as many taps out. oh well, it is what it is!

Rugburn
03-22-2013, 02:01 PM