PDA

View Full Version : Questions from a novice

nymapleman
06-18-2006, 04:47 PM
I am fairly new at sugar making, only three years in, and I'm just curious as to how deep the sap should be in the pans. I have a leader 2x6 and been boiling about two inches deep. I can never seem to draw off actual syrup but must finish off on a small gas stove.
Also, I have a gasket between the pans and evaporator. Is this neccessary?
All advice is greatly appreciated.

GregMVT
06-18-2006, 06:37 PM
This was my third year too and also boil on a Leader 2x6. I keep my sap between 1 1/4-1 1/2 inches, only because my syrup pan has some warps. I draw off into my canner and finish in that. It is much easier to control the heat and get a large, about 7-8 gallons, finished at a time. I use a gasket under my pans. It is great at preventing heat and smoke from coming out under the pans.

Greg

brookledge
06-18-2006, 07:00 PM
In your syrup pan you could come down to 1" or so it all comes down to how comfortable you are in recognizing whats going on in your pan. With a 2X6 it is hard to get a draw off in any sizable amount but you should be able to get a continuous trickle of syrup to come off the pan. The problem then is that it usually cools down to much to run it through a filter so you end up having to re heat it first.
On the other hand if you can close off the last section in your pan(some leader pans are set up with a gate valve) you can draw off a 1/2 gal to a gallon per drawoff and then put it through the filter
When you run it at lower levels you usually can make lighter syrup but have a greater chance of burning the pans.
Try reducing your level a little at a time so you can get comfortable with it.
I usually run at 1" to 1 1/4"
Keith

HanginAround
06-18-2006, 08:36 PM