PDA

View Full Version : Tapping NE Wisconsin [Florence County]

Sundown
03-15-2013, 08:14 AM
Looking at the long range forcast, it looks like I will tap around March 20. I've been making syrup here for 40 years and this is a pretty normal tap date. The last couple years of early spring got some thinking that late February was normal, but that has not been the case through the years. I packed my haul road last week. We still have about 2' of snow in the woods and another 4"-8" in the forcast for Monday. I'm hopefull for a good run this year. Last year it lasted a grand total of 10 days for me.

TerryF
03-16-2013, 09:07 PM
I usually tap on St Pat's day, be later this year. We are back to normal spring here. A few miles into Marinette county from Florence Co.

Mikeh
03-18-2013, 07:36 PM
I tapped a few weeks ago (yeah, I know.....). I'm between Crivitz and Pembine and I have gotten 1.5 gallons of sap per tap so far for the season. Not great but at least I'm making a bit of syrup.

fhedmark
03-19-2013, 07:51 AM
I tapped on March 8th and 9th. At this point I'm letting the sap dripple onto the ground out of my tubing. I don't want to take a chance of letting the sap freeze up in the releaser, pump or tanks. At least my tubing is getting some additional flushing. In the last week, we have gotten over another foot of snow, so I'm glad I tapped before this additional snow arrived.

ginters
03-19-2013, 08:49 AM
tapping in forest county we have a new RO (first one)can't wait to use it.

Sundown
03-19-2013, 02:52 PM
More snow yesterday, the forecast looks like warmer weather is just around the corner. I'm going to tap tomorrow. Looks like snowshoes will have to get dusted off!!

Sundown
03-27-2013, 07:03 AM
I put in 75 taps,buckets & bags on the 20th. They finally started to drip a little yesterday afternoon. Looking at the forecast we should be boiling this weekend.

TerryF
03-30-2013, 12:40 PM