PDA

View Full Version : How Low in a Half-Pint?

DonMcJr
03-10-2013, 10:09 PM
Ok im trying to figure out draw off on my Half-Pint. I have 2 boils of sweet in the pan. I get it down to an inch and the middle channel is a big rolling boil and the prefeeder channel has a smaller rolling boil. The finish channel has a rolling boil in the back but not by the draw off.

When I did draw off twice yesterday I was at like 3/4 inch. How low before I have to worry about something bad happening?

DonMcJr
03-10-2013, 11:55 PM
Ok I got the depth at 1 1/4 inch and had my 1st draw off at 12:47am. Thats 3 hours and 47 minutes from when I stoked the fire! Not bad...going down to an inch lets see when the next drawoff is!

bowhunter
03-11-2013, 06:18 AM
This is my first year and I also have a half pint. I've done 16 boils and made 14 gallons of syrup, but I haven't tried to draw finished material of the evaporator. I pull most of the inventory out of the pan after 6-8 hours and finish on the stove. It's about 30-40% sugar when I take it to the kitchen to finish. I've pulled the pan down to 3/4 several times with no trouble so far, but I flood the pan from the sap preheater after starting to draw off. That will push the semi around to the draw off. Even if you're going to continue to boil and take a small draw I think you should be able to add a couple of gallons of extra sap to raise the level in pan to replace the volume of the draw. The pan is about 3.4 gallons per inch, so 2 gallons would add about 5/8 inch in level.

How close is the draw material to finished syrup? I might give it a try myself.

DonMcJr
03-11-2013, 06:51 AM
I was pulling it off at 218 degress and stopped when it hit 217 F. Finishing what I drew off after I go to sleep and wake up as long as my bottles are shipped today and I will let you know how close it is after that.

MAPLENUTT
03-15-2013, 05:37 PM