PDA

View Full Version : hydrometer temperature question

moscowmule
03-08-2013, 05:42 PM
hi all. so this is my first year using a hydrometer. i've found it has so far been easiest to not even use the thing when im drawing off, but go a little on the heavy syrup side and do and add a little water later when i am bottling after doing a 'room temperature 60 degree' cold hydrometer test.

however for various reasons, sometimes i am doing hot tests on the stove at home. my question is this; if i am bringing it up to 211 degrees and then poring it into the hydrometer cup it seems like it cools a couple degrees by the time i get the cup full with a ladle and the hydrometer in it. how much is the accuracy of the hydrometer going to be jeopardized if the syrup is slightly cooler than 211 degrees? i cant seem to get it ABOVE 211 degrees to compensate for this heat lose, because at 211 it begins to foam over and i have to bring the heat down. perhaps defoamer would fix this?

thanks
cory

markct
03-08-2013, 06:04 PM
I usualy check it at whatever temp it happens to be at, much easier to look at the temp compensation chart than try and make the temp exactly 211

wnybassman
03-08-2013, 06:36 PM
If your "near syrup" is boiling at 211º you may want to check your thermometer, unless you live on the top of a mountain. lol

Generally, syrup is roughly 217º to 220º+ and that 211º test number is as estimated drop in temp from the pan to the cup. Like you said, you lose a few degrees, but you are supposed to. But I think you should be starting at a higher temp to begin with.

wiam
03-08-2013, 06:40 PM
http://www.leaderevaporator.com/pdf_files/syrup-hydrometer.pdf

This tells a lot about it and has a temp correction chart

Burnt sap
03-09-2013, 07:42 AM
Quick fix put test cup in boiling sap/water or sap side of pan so the test cup is at 200+ degrees. This will make the reading a bit closer to the mark. Hope that helps.

Dennis H.
03-09-2013, 08:24 AM