PDA

View Full Version : More coil around the stack

dtorrey13
03-08-2013, 02:35 PM
Hey everyone,
I am a newbie and I am going to play around with the coil around the stack. I was thinking I am going to go with 5/8" copper but it seems a lot of people go with 3/8. I have a float valve so that is the main reason I am going to go with the 5/8" to help avoid vapor lock. I plan on putting a vent out the top as well. Will it even work with the float valve or is that a bad idea? My other question is if it would work to have the cold sap enter the bottom of the coil and out the top. My thoughts is that would increase my chances for vapor lock but maybe not since it would be vented and have the flow going that way. Just bouncing some ideas around, I know a lot of people have done variations of this and wondering if my plan would work. Thanks.

acerrubrum
03-08-2013, 06:35 PM
I've read about many people using the coil wrap, but never with a float valve. If you have the wrap, the sap needs to move regularly through it to avoid steam troubles. I'd keep checking into this, it sounds like trouble to me, but I'm no expert.

wnybassman
03-08-2013, 06:41 PM
I keep toying with the idea of coils around my stack, but I can't come up with a good plan of what I do when I run out of sap. I don't believe running the coil dry can be a good idea?

acerrubrum
03-08-2013, 07:18 PM
I read one idea that might work for when you run out of sap to run through the coil. You just start running water through the tube and divert it away from you pans, I think it could be handy for cleaning up.

325abn
03-08-2013, 09:25 PM
Give it try and see if it works, just keep an eye on it. Trial and error my friend.

The copper will be ok! What the melting point of copper, 1200?

lpakiz
03-08-2013, 11:12 PM