PDA

View Full Version : Is sterilization really necessary?

mantispid
03-07-2013, 06:42 PM
If I boil the syrup to 67.5 brix, do I really need to worry about heat-sterilizing clean containers? This is my first year producing (personal use), and I'm used to processing honey (where I don't really need to worry about heat-sterilizing). If the sugar content is high enough, won't maple syrup keep just like honey does?

spencer11
03-07-2013, 06:57 PM
It will get moldy if left out and not in the cold if its not hot packed, I've never had it happen but it can, as long as you pack it at 185* it will seal properly and you shouldn't have any problems, and you shouldn't need to heat containers

happy thoughts
03-07-2013, 07:07 PM
It's not just the brix that counts it's the packing temp. Make sure you pack at 180-185 F and fill the containers to about 1/4" from the top. You want those temps to get a good seal. Higher than that and you'll get too much shrinkage when it cools. That temp should sterilize the bottles and lids- tip the bottles so the hot syrup touches them. There will be some shrinkage in volume. Less head space means less air to support mold growth. Though I don't keep bees I don't think syrup has the same keeping qualities as honey. You need to refrigerate opened bottles of syrup. I've never put honey in the fridge.

I sterilize bottles myself since i recycle them from other uses like salad dressing. But if you have very clean or new containers, I think a really good wash should be enough imho. Try to keep the bottles warm if possible before filling if only to prevent cracking. Some keep them in a warm oven.

post edit- syrup needs to be at least 66 brix for good keeping. Less brix may mean syrup that supports mold growth and will spoil faster.

mantispid
03-07-2013, 07:07 PM