PDA

View Full Version : When to Quit Collecting?

Evets
03-06-2013, 02:25 PM
Just wondering, as a total newb, when to quit collecting sap here in south central Pa. I've noticed in the last couple days that the buds are beginning to swell. As of 3 days ago I was still getting nice clear sap. Since then it hasn't really been below freezing at night and the sap has all but stopped flowing. What little I have now has a yellowish tint and a stronger than normal smell. I think I may be done for the season. Thoughts?

maine guide
03-06-2013, 02:57 PM
I kept sap almost a week last year and it was pretty warm. The syrup made from that was fine. I couldn't tell the difference. But I'm just a little guy 40 taps and boiling on a 55 gallon drum.

happy thoughts
03-06-2013, 03:15 PM
It seems a little early. What type of maples are you tapping and is it the maples you see budding? Red maples often break bud earlier than others but it just seems early to me even though I'm much further north of you and our weather is a little different. You're probably 2 weeks ahead of us or more. I'm still waiting for sap to start flowing well. It's just coming in dribs and drabs so far up here. Someone closer to you should be able to tell you better but I wouldn't pull your taps yet. You can expect darker stronger flavored sap toward the end of the season. When the sap starts smelling like old socks when you boil it, you'll know the season is really over.

Evets
03-06-2013, 03:24 PM
Thanks a lot. I appreciate your opinion. I only have two good sized Silver maples with two taps in each and these are the trees that i mentioned with the buds swelling. I'll leave the taps in awhile and see how it goes. I'm really happy with my results so far, about nine pints of syrup from maybe fifty gallons of sap. Mostly, I just wanted to see if I could produce a decent syrup. I have had some friends offer up their trees for tapping next year already! I'll have to put together a bigger evaporator i guess.:cool: