PDA

View Full Version : Sugars vs Reds

Flatfoot95
05-26-2006, 08:24 PM
I am currently thinning a soon to be sugar bush. These woods have never been cut off. Most of the older trees are reds however there is an ample amount of young sugars coming up underneath. Most are 20-30' tall and are about 3 inches in diameter. My question is should I be cutting down a 6-10" red to allow the younger sugar to flourish. I am not short on taps for the years to come. This is just a project so I can eventually have a bush instead of mostly roadsides. Any suggestions or oppinions will be greatly appreciated.

HanginAround
05-26-2006, 09:50 PM
I'm not an expert... but there is no way I would cut a 6-10" Red to give a 3" Sugar a boost. I think Reds make fine syrup even if the yields are slightly lower. My friend has 100 taps almost all Reds, and he makes very nice light syrup. I would be afraid you or I wouldn't live long enough to see a 3" Sugar reach tappable size even after you cut down a 40 yo Red. The decision has to be yours, based on how much thinning is really neccessary and if you could get away with thinning something other than healthy trees coming into their prime.

It will be interesting to see what ppl who DO know what they're talking about post 8O :D

Anyone have guesses how old a 10" tree is, or how long for a 3" tree to reach 10"?

Parker
05-27-2006, 05:12 AM