PDA

View Full Version : New wisconsin mandatory reporting

jmayerl
03-02-2013, 09:39 AM
Just a heads up to all Wisconsinites that sell ANY syrup. The state has new requirements. The old rule of if you just sold from home or farm stands is out. You now must register no matter what. You must have a clean, separate processing room other than your home kitchen, 3 compartment sink. There is no inspection or fee if sales are under $5000, but you may not purchase any sap either.
http://datcp.wi.gov/Food/Honey_and_Maple_Syrup/Selling_Maple_Syrup/index.aspx

GramaCindy
03-18-2013, 06:49 PM
One has just got to wonder where this is coming from….a three hole sink? What about potable water, drainage, sanitation? The list could go on. I just don't get it.You just have to wonder how they could make these regulations without more specifics. Like Potable Water….drainage….hot water…..The three hole sink thing is riduculous! What do they want in the three holes, no mention of that. I work in a school kitchen, am Level 3 certified (the top) for the SNA, have ServSafe certification, and am HACCP trained. What gives? I make my syrup in my sugar house, finish outside on a stainless turkey fryer, then head into my home kitchen that has been cleaned from stem to stern, sanitized anywhere I will be working and bottle off of a stainless coffee urn, wash and boil my bottles and all equipment involved in bottling. Now they say that I can't use my home kitchen for bottling? Forgetaboutit!

Sweet80
03-19-2013, 04:36 PM
It seems to me that somebody does not want the small scale producer the ability to legally sell their syrup.

GramaCindy
03-19-2013, 07:31 PM
and how sad is that Sweet?

325abn
03-19-2013, 07:38 PM
Watch out for the maple gustapo!

Sweet80
03-20-2013, 04:07 PM
Pretty sad GC, pretty sad.
I wonder how these rules were developed?

Red-bellied Woodpecker
03-20-2013, 04:52 PM