PDA

View Full Version : Will it work??

emericksmaple
05-20-2006, 09:56 PM
Since we are going to vaccum in one of our woods we are taking down all of the 1/2inch mains and replacing them with 3/4 inch. Now here is the question. In One of the woods i already have vaccum in, I need another booster. Could I run 3 -- 1/2 inch dry lines from one booster to another and get decent vaccum??? This way then I would not have to buy 1"or 1 1/4" for a dry line just use what we are discarding.

lew
05-21-2006, 06:09 AM
I am by no means an expert on vacuum, but if you try to replace one 1 " line with thre 1/2 inch lines, you won't have the same capacity as the one 1 inch line. Mathematically, yo need to find the surface area of your 1/2 inch line and compare it to your 1 inch line. So you take the formula for surface area (3.14 x radius squared) and apply it to your main line choices. For the 1 inch line it would be 3.14 x .5 x .5 = .7875. For you 1/2 line it would be 3.14 x .25 x.25 = .19625. If you had three 1/2 inch lines that would equal .58875, not equal to your 1 inch line. You would need just over 4 1/2 inch lines to equal your one 1 inch line, plus don't forget all of the friction loss due to all of the of the number of pipes that the air would be running through. you would have twice the friction loss in the 1/2 line setup with 4 lines versus the one 1 inch line. I like the idea of reusing the lines you already have, but you would need at least 5 lines to do what 1 one inch line could do. I am not sure how you figure out your friction loss for the air, but i am sure somebody on here does.

maplecrest
05-21-2006, 07:29 AM