PDA

View Full Version : My First Time

First timer
03-01-2013, 10:23 AM
My first year tapping trees, or should I say tree, my neighbors to be exact. I got about 10 gals and boiled inside since I have no evaporator. It took quite a while but i perservered and came out with 3 pints. Very tasty and can't wait for more!! OH!! I'm in Hazlet NJ! 7091

Spolcik
03-01-2013, 12:29 PM
Wow! how did you get 3 pints from 10 gal. of sap.It takes me about 40 to get a gallon of syrup.

First timer
03-01-2013, 12:38 PM
Well, like I said, it's my first time doing this so maybe I didn't boil it down far enough. It is a little thin but it tastes great! I got the temp up to 219dg then stopped. Should I have kept going?

valleyman
03-01-2013, 12:48 PM
7.1 degrees above the boiling point of water on syrup making day.

Spolcik
03-01-2013, 04:21 PM
Well, like I said, it's my first time doing this so maybe I didn't boil it down far enough. It is a little thin but it tastes great! I got the temp up to 219dg then stopped. Should I have kept going?

No sounds like you did it right. Actually I read that wrong I was thinking 3 quarts. I used the temperature as a gauge last year seemed to work well for me too. I bought a hydrometer for this year. Good luck with the rest of your season! It gets adicting as it seems you already know! Best of luck!

Asthepotthickens
03-01-2013, 04:28 PM

Make sure the syrup sheets it should drop off a strainer in chunks type thing. My first time was a learning experience I thought I had syrup but I had very very sweet sap.

First timer
03-05-2013, 08:20 AM