PDA

View Full Version : Where to get bottles

bowhunter
02-27-2013, 05:47 PM
This is my first year and I'm out of bottles. I got mine from a supplier up in Michigan. Does anyone know if anyone here in central Ohio sells them?

Run Forest Run!
02-27-2013, 05:57 PM
Dont feel that you must use standard syrup bottles if you are having trouble finding them. You can always do just fine with Mason jars and they are available everywhere - you may even have some in the house already.

MoCoFarm
02-27-2013, 07:00 PM
I just got some extra tubing from Erlsten Bros. in Mt Gilead. I plan on getting some bottles from them as soon as I get a chance. http://www.erlstenmaple.com/Buy_Maple_Syrup_Containers.htm They are easy to work with.

BTW, I read here about lots of taps on one small tube on a steep slope, so I tried it this year. I'm in Morgan Co. in SE Ohio. I have 300 or so large sugar maples on a steep slope. I have only used bags and buckets in the past and could only get to a few of the trees from a logging road that winds up the hill. So I taped about 45 trees going in a zig zap up the hill used about 400' of tubing in about 100' of rise. Seems to be working great. I can pull a tap half way up the hill and and the vacuum is so strong it whistles. Best flow so far is 7 gallons per hour.

SevenCreeksSap
02-27-2013, 07:22 PM
Fitch Pharm Farm in Ashland also. I get them there but usually have trouble trying to call first. the phone number that comes up when you google it seems to just ring.

bowhunter
02-28-2013, 06:39 AM
Thanks guys. I knew there had to be some place in Ohio to get bottles.

Karen,

Thanks. I was considering canning jars, but my wife's kind of partial to them. We may still do that anyway.

This forum is awesome. I've had a 2-3 questions over the past week and have gotten responses in a few hours.

Thanks to everyone.

Pweideman
02-28-2013, 09:06 AM